Series

Series: Black Mirror

 

f9e4a1a6fbc96166f4ac2279de7fab7b

Black Mirror is a Netflix series that I recently discovered and watched to the point where I got completely addicted to it. For those who have not seen it, I strongly recommend it, for those who have I hope you share my point of view.

2030b78f5eff9173eefb7e753aa4f78f
Source:Pinterest

So this series was something completely different and original for me. First of all I have to make clear that I usually find series without continuous plot boring, in order to actually become addicted to  series I have to feel  intrigued, but here we have the exception to my rule. Every episode of Black Mirror is a different story, set in the not-so-far future with completely different characters. The cast changes in every episode as well as the technology presented. It is essentially a series pinning the bad influence technology and new inventions can cause our lives if (and is a big IF) we are not careful.

What needs to be clear is that the series doesn’t portray technology as something necessarily wr

c4ddcdc4957d8cafffe845dbf6ea6ae2
Reference to the third episode of the first season. Source:Pinterest

ong but it mostly, to my opinion, aims on showing how brainwashed/swallowed by technology people can be (or already are). If you look around you, everyone is staring into a screen and new developments in the field of technology come every day. It is a way of living and no one can deny that but still there are dangers and a lot of them actually.

I have realized that, upon taking a literature class concerning science fiction, the fear of the machine becoming more human and the human becoming more of a machine is real. Things writers used to imagine a few decades ago are our realities today and situations portrayed in the series can possibly be our reality tomorrow. The point might be to scare, I know for a fact that after almost every episode I would sit and think about how I would have reacted. It is a series working as food for thought on our overexposure to the digital world.

BeFunky Collage.jpg
Stills from various episodes.

There are only three seasons and the first one only has three episodes so I strongly recommend it and I promise you that after watching this you will probably get addicted to similar series and start thinking about how close the “distant” future is and what will our role be.

Leave a Reply

